Michigan Wins 2018 Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championships

Michigan Athletics

Release courtesy of the Big Ten

Michigan claimed the 2018 Big Ten Women’s Swimming & Diving Championship Saturday at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion on the campus of Ohio State University. The title marks the team’s third consecutive conference crown.

Michigan collected 1,465 total points throughout the four-day event. Indiana finished second after collecting 1,152.5 points and Ohio State was third with 1,094.5 points. Minnesota finished fourth with 1,049 points, while Wisconsin recorded 755 points to finish fifth.

The Wolverines took home titles in the 800-yard freestyle relay (Yirong, G. Deloof,  C. Deloof, Ryan; 6:56.28) and the 500-yard freestyle (Yirong Bi; 4:38.88), as well as placed first and set new Big Ten Championships records in the 200-yard individual medley (Siobhan Haughey: 1:53.59), the 200-yard butterfly (Vanessa Krause; 1:53.44), the 200-yard freestyle (Siobhan Haughey: 1:41.66) and the 400-yard freestyle relay (C. Deloof, Haughey, Pyshnenko, G. Deloof; 3:10.96).

Wisconsin’s Beata Nelson was named Swimmer of the Championships, while Minnesota’s Sarah Bacon and Northwestern’s Olivia Rosendahl were tabbed Co-Diver of the Championships. Ohio State’s Kristen Romano claimed Freshman of the Year honors.

The complete 2018 All-Big Ten Teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees are listed below.

2018 Big Ten Individual Honors

Swimmer of the Championships: Beata Nelson, So., Wisconsin
Co-Diver of the Championships: Sarah Bacon, So. Minnesota

Co-Diver of the Championships: Olivia Rosendahl, Jr., Northwestern
Freshman of the Year: Kristen Romano, Ohio State

2018 All-Big Ten First Team

Alexandra Rockett, SR, IND

Lilly King, JR, IND

Christine Jensen, JR, IND

Grace Haskett, FR, IND

Yirong Bi, JR, MICH

Gabrielle Deloof, SR, MICH

Catherine Deloof, JR, MICH

G Ryan, SR, MICH

Siobhan Haughey, JR, MICH

Sarah Bacon, SO, MINN

Liz Li, SR, OSU

Olivia Rosendahl, JR, NU

Freya Rayner, FR, OSU

Macie McNichols, SR, OSU

Maria Coy, JR, OSU

Allyson McHugh, JR, PSU

Beata Nelson, SO, WIS

Vanessa Krause, SO, MICH

Meg Bailey, SR, OSU

Jessica Parratto, JR, IND

Daria Pyshnenko, FR, MICH


2018 All-Big Ten Second Team

Tevyn Waddell, SO, MINN

Lindsey Kozelsky, SO, MINN

Danielle Nack, SR, MINN

Zoe Avestruz, JR, MINN

Chantal Nack, JR, MINN

Mackenzie Padington, FR, MINN

Kaersten Meitz, SR, PUR

Addison Walkowiak, SR, RU

Clara Smiddy, SR, MICH

Miranda Tucker, SO, MICH

Kristen Romano, FR, OSU

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Emily Martin, So., Illinois

Rachel Matsumura, Sr., Indiana

Meghan Hackett, So., Iowa

G Ryan, Sr., Michigan

Becca Hannon, Sr., Michigan State

Kaia Grobe, Jr., Minnesota

Jacqueline Jeschke, Jr., Nebraska

Mary Warren, Sr., Northwestern

Mikayla Murphy, Jr., Ohio State

Hannah Harper, Sr., Penn State

Taite Kitchel, Jr., Purdue

Karlie Rymer, Sr., Rutgers

Maddie Martin, Sr., Wisconsin

Why Hasn’t The U.S. Ever Hosted The FINA World Championships?

Xinhua/Sipa USA

Briefly glance at the FINA World Championships medal table sometime. The results speak for themselves. The United States has over 100 more gold medal performances than the next closest nation. Few would disagree the U.S. is the strongest swimming country around. Yet, it has never hosted FINA’s namesake event.

The six-discipline aquatic World Championships have been or are planned to be hosted on every continent, except obviously Antarctica. Six of the next seven countries in the medal table have hosted at some point. During the time since North America last hosted—2005 in Montreal—Europe has hosted four times, Australia has hosted once, Africa will have hosted once, and Asia will have hosted a total of three times, including the 2019 World Championships in Gwangju, South Korea.

Will Ledecky’s Record-Breaking Deal Open Doors For Other Newly Turned Pros?

Marc Lebryk-USA TODAY Sports

Katie Ledecky has left the amateur ranks to sign a much-anticipated professional endorsement deal, and it may be setting a new standard for other high-profile swimmers to follow in the five-time Olympic gold medalist’s footsteps. 

Everything You Need To Know About College Swimming’s Wild Offseason—So Far

Aaron Doster-USA TODAY Sports

The college swimming world finds itself in the midst of a wild ride this offseason. Coaches are on the move, athletes are transferring, and the best female swimmer in the NCAA is turning professional. 

CIF State Meet: Santa Margarita Girls, Northwood Boys Capture 1st Titles


On a weekend that saw 13 California state meet records go down, the Santa Margarita girls and Northwood boys swimming and diving teams ensured there was a changing of the guard at the fourth annual CIF State Championships on Saturday evening at the Clovis Olympic Swim Complex in Fresno.

How To Watch: 2018 CIF State Swimming & Diving Championships

Clovis West High School

The 2018 California Interscholastic Federation State Swimming and Diving Championships are primed for a weekend filled with title-winning, and possibly record-breaking, performances at the Clovis Olympic Swim Complex at Clovis West High School in Fresno, CA.

California's Best Seek State Titles At CIF Swimming & Diving Championships

The best swimmers and divers that each section of California has to offer are competing this weekend for the right to call themselves state champions. The 2018 CIF Swimming and Diving Championships get underway Friday and continue Saturday at the Clovis Olympic Swim Complex in Fresno. 

2018 CIF-SS Championships: Psych Sheets, Results, & How To Watch

The 2018 CIF-Southern Section Ford Swimming and Diving Championships are set to host some of the top talent California has to offer at the boys and girls high school level over the next three days.

CIF-SS Preview: Santa Margarita Girls Look To Repeat, Boys Race Wide Open

Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports

Southern California’s best swimmers come together this week at the California Interscholastic Federation-Southern Section Ford Swimming Championships to compete for regional titles and a chance to move on to the state meet.

Relay Heroes: How The Nation’s Best Swimmers Found Another Gear

© Thomas J. Russo-USA TODAY Sports

By Anthony Ashley

Every swimmer knows a teammate or two who can just get going for relays. It doesn’t matter if they are swimming an off-event, if they’re on their fifth race of the day, or if they’re on their team’s D-lay, they are going to haul.

FloSports Announces 2nd Annual Hometown Heroes Program To Award $25,000

Nominations For The 2018 Hometown Heroes Program Now Open!

Nominations open now thru June 30 to identify communities’ most influential coaches!